The outstanding contributions our volunteers have made to junior cricket over the season were also recognised at the awards on the night of Wednesday 20 March.

Awards presented included the Junior Team Coach of the Year, School Ambassador of the Year, and the Growing Cricket for Girls Award, but the most special moment of the night was kept for Len Pavy.

In 2007, Pavy was presented with WACA Honorary Life Membership for his special services to cricket as both a player and administrator.

After his playing days, Pavy was heavily involved in the administration of community junior cricket, and was appointed Chair of the WA Junior Management Board, now the CJCC.

Current Chairman of the CJCC Jamie Chappell said Pavy’s influence on community cricket in WA has been profound.

“Len was instrumental in bringing all the community competitions in the metro area together under one umbrella,” Chappell said.

“We’ve got a system that all other states and territories would love to have, we’ve got one group that can lobby the peak body on behalf of all community cricket associations, which is a system that doesn’t exist in any other state.

“I’ve had the opportunity to get to know Len over a number of years and it was a great honour to be able to award him with our first life membership.”

Pavy’s influence on community cricket in WA can’t be understated, prior to his Life Membership, the Community Club of the Year Award was already named in his honour.

This year that award went to Quinns Rocks Junior Cricket Club for their outstanding commitment to growing the game in their region and truly making cricket a sport for all.

All the winners from the night are listed below.

Award Winners




Life Membership Presentation

Len Pavy

Len Pavy Club of the Year

Quinns Rocks Junior Cricket Club

Spirit of Cricket Award

South – Phoenix Beeliar Junior Cricket Club

North – Wanneroo Junior Cricket Club

Growing Cricket for Girls Award

Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club

Junior Umpires of the Year

Matthew Farthing – Midland Guilford Junior Cricket Association

Heron Carson – South West Junior Metropolitan Cricket Council

Troy Matthews – Perth Junior Cricket Association

Cameron Winnett – South East Junior Metropolitan Cricket Council

Ben Travers – North West Metropolitan Cricket Association

Junior Female Team Coach of the Year

Luke Gray – White Knights Baldivis Junior Cricket Club

Junior Team Coach of the Year

Simon Lewis-Jones – Sorrento Duncraig Junior Cricket Club

School Ambassador of the Year

Dan Rodgers – Deanmore Primary School

Jon Weekes – Methodist Ladies College

Woolworths Cricket Blast Master Blaster Club Coordinator of the Year

Ben Dreckow – Halls Head Junior Cricket Club

Woolworths Cricket Blast Junior Blaster Club Coordinator of the Year

David Hutchison – Leederville Mt Hawthorn Junior Cricket Club